Courgetti Spaghetti

This is so simple there is no need to write a recipe, but I just had to share it with you.  Whilst trying to cut down on carbs I came across this alternative for spaghetti thanks to the fantastic Madeleine Shaw.

Courgettes.

Yes I know I was skeptical and in my head I was hoping some miracle occurred when they were thinly sliced to make it taste like pasta…it didn’t.

However, it’s brilliant.

Courgetti

Thinly/ thickly/ however you want slice the courgette.  We used a cheese grater for thinner slices and potato peeler for larger slicers.  You can buy a special spiralizer thing but I’ve never been afraid of a bit of man power.  One courgette is enough for one person.

Then go crazy with whatever topping you fancy.  We went the whole hog and made a bolognese.

Courgetti bolognese

It wasn’t pasta, but it was delicious and a far more interesting way to eat courgettes.  I didn’t feel at all bloated after, so this is now my go to staple for spaghetti.

On our next vlog there should be a snippet of me trying it for the first time for the real review!  If you haven’t visited our new YouTube channel yet, click here and go have a little visit. We’d love it if you’d subscribe to our channel.

photo-4

Do have a go and let us know how you get on.  If you use substitutes for anything else then pop it in the comment section below and we’ll give them a try.

A x

3 thoughts on “Courgetti Spaghetti

  1. Hello again! We have swapped rice for cauliflower which I works really well too, put it in the blender until it looks like couscous and then microwave it for 5 mins. It smells a but funky when it comes out but tastes good once mixed with chilli or curry etc. I’m up in London this weekend seeing Katie, are you around at all? Xx

    Like

  2. Hello again! I love courgetti. We’ve replaced rice for cauliflower rice which works really well. Pop it in a blender until it looks like couscous, then microwave it for 5 mins. It smells a bit funky when it comes out but tastes nice, we do ours with veg chilli or curry.
    I’m up in London this weekend seeing Katie, are you around at all? Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

