Skincare SOS

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a sucker for lotions and potions and a salesperson’s dream, buying into all sorts of ridiculous claims: “This lip gloss makes your teeth look whiter” – I bought it….it didn’t!

I’ve always been fascinated by skincare and, thanks to my Mum, have always looked after my skin.  Recently I was asked if I might pop a quick blog up about my daily routine.  I don’t claim to be an expert by any stretch of the imagination, just someone who takes care of their skin and is rather obsessed with products!

I’m a Liz Earle girl at heart.  When I left drama school I temped at the Liz Earle store in Sloane Square for about 6 months and fell in love with the brand.  I saw first hand the difference the products made to people’s skin and seeing Liz herself – well she is the best ambassador for her brand as her skin literally glows – and that was when she had no makeup on!-  I know life is so unfair!

I have always been a firm believer of ‘cleanse, tone and moisturise’ and ALWAYS, no matter how tired/ drunk you are, believe in taking make up off at night.  I have normal to combination skin which can be slightly sensitive.

I’m going to do my morning and evening routine side by side as they are basically the same.

Liz Earle’s cleanse and polish is my staple go to cleanser for removing make up and cleaning the skin.  It is so gentle that you could use it on a baby, yet it removes make up and leaves the skin feeling so soft.  It also smells gorgeous…not an added perfume smell but the natural aroma of the eucalyptus in the product.  You massage this all over your face and neck and then rinse of with a muslin cloth soaked in warm water.

Liz EarleOnce to twice a week I use the Liz Earle exfoliator which is a fabulously gentle exfoliator but still does the job but without being too abrasive on the skin.

Particularly for getting off stage makeup, I use something like this L’oreal Micellar Solution before the cleanse and polish just to get rid of the mascara and excess make up, as although the cleanse and polish does a good job on removing light make up you just end up with a filthy muslin cloth of make up.

L'oreal Miscellar SolutionThis is my life saviour taking off stage make up and having tried lots of different products such as the Shu Uemura oil and the Mac oil I think this wins hands down as if the oil goes in your eye you can’t see for a good five minutes…not always ideal when you’re trying to rush out of the theatre.  Also it’s much cheaper!

My beloved cleanse and polish was nearly finished and I decided to try something else (*hangs head in shame*) after hearing such incredible things about Clinique’s take the day off cleansing balm.

CliniqueNow I’m not a lover of Clinique skincare.  For me I have always found it too heavy and harsh on my skin and years ago hearing that their cleanser was strong enough to wipe down their counter surfaces with, I think it stuck in my mind even if it was just hearsay.  However I like to be proved wrong.

I’m in love.  I can’t recommend this product enough.  It comes in a hard waxy balm and you pop your finger in and dig out a small amount, warm it in your fingers and massage it all over your face (including eyes).  You can rinse it off just with water but I prefer to use a flannel or muslin cloth.  Your skin is left feeling as smooth and soft as a baby’s bottom and squeaky clean.

Clinique cleansing balmNow when I went to the Clinique counter and requested this product (it wasn’t on show as they seem to always be sold out) the lady got one out of a cupboard and said yes it’s great for removing make up, but that’s all it does, it won’t help your skin and you have to use a cleanser on top of it to remove it – I knew that she was then going to show me her Clinique 3 step system and try and sell me that….and voila she didn’t disappoint!  I didn’t want the 3 step system I’d only heard negative things about it and she only said I needed a cleanser on top to try and upsell….I ignored all her advice and went with my gut.

Thank goodness I did. My skin has never looked better and you don’t need a cleanser to take off the cleansing balm – the notion is absolutely ridiculous and I hate using too many products – surely product on top of product is just going to clog my skin?!

After cleansing I always use a toner and yes back to Liz Earle and their tonic.  I pop a bit on a cotton wool pad and sweep it all over my face just to hydrate the skin and get rid of any residual product left on the skin.  In the mornings I tend to use the spritzer version to wake me up a bit!

Liz Earle Tonic

After that it’s time to turn to my old faithful Nivea.  I have tried so many different moisturisers from high end to Boots own and turn back to Nivea time and time again. My skin is quite fussy and it seems to love it.  The light one for the day so that my skin isn’t left too greasy with too thick a product and then their slightly thicker one at night for some skin tlc.  I always moisturise my neck in an upward motion as well – I swear this is going to stop me getting a wrinkly neck…hmmmmm

Nivea

My little skin saviours are Elizabeth Arden’s eight hour cream – although I’ve run out at the moment and instead having been using Lucas’ Papaw.  An Australian all time favourite product with similar healing properties and much cheaper.  I still prefer Elizabeth Arden’s but this little red tube is filling the time nicely till I restock. The best lip balm ever and can be put on any blisters, cuts, burns, blemishes, dry skin.

DSC01125

Tea Tree oil directly onto any blemishes. It is a natural antiseptic so a dream at tackling those unwanted spots.

When I want to look more bright eyed and bushy tailed I pop on the Clarins beauty flash balm.  I usually wear it like a primer under my foundation, not only does it prolong the wear of your foundation but it tightens the skin and makes you look more energised.  It can also be worn on its own.

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

And finally if you’re going to look after you skin you can’t forget the rest of your body.  In the summer I’m pretty good at slathering on yummy body butters but in the winter I am always too cold and so this new moisturiser Spray from Vaseline is the answer to my prayers.  Just a quick spray and rub in (you can ignore this last step if you’re feeling particularly lazy) and you’re done.

Vaseline

What are your skincare saviours and products you just can’t live without?

A x

Leave a Reply

