The daunting dance classes

I was chatting recently about going to singing lessons and as I’m off to another one today it made me think I must try to go to more dance classes . I say ‘try’ as this is something that I need to work on this year. Often just the idea of a dance class is enough to make me run in the opposite direction with visions of leotards and legs over the shoulder, alongside triple pirouettes making me wake up in a cold sweat.

ballet cartoon

Saying that a class is never as bad as I think it’s going to be and I always come out feeling great and wondering why I don’t go more often…the same can’t be said for all dance auditions!  There are loads of great classes in London with such exciting teachers that there really is something for everyone. Grab a friend and together it won’t be so daunting.  I went to a hilarious ballet class a little while back where my friend and I were by far the youngest by a good 20 years…we had an absolute ball and a good giggle and there was even a little old man in the corner playing the piano for us.

ballet

If just the idea of going to a dance class is leaving you with palpitations (I completely understand) then something you can do in the quiet of your own home is keep reading. Alongside fiction I also read books on acting, always picking up pearls of wisdom. These are a few I read recently that I highly recommend (click on the photos for links to them):

In Depth Acting

The Golden Rules of Acting

True and False

The Half

So I guess it’s safe to say we never stop learning and I try and learn from as many different people as possible and keep inspired.  I always imagine having a shelf and I can pull bits down when I want to use them and some bits go to the back but they are always there should I ever need them.

Happy Friday everyone.

A x
Leave a Reply

