Easy Peasy Leek and Potato Soup

I certainly don’t claim to be a good cook….I sometimes wonder whether I even enjoy cooking….I like the idea of it and I like eating, I’m just too impatient.  J on the otherhand is a brilliant cook (don’t tell him I said that) he is never scared to experiment.  However I can bake because I can follow a recipe…this is where J fails!

Sunday brought with it the dull dreary cold grey weather that calls for only one thing….a good old nutritious homemade soup and this four step recipe is so simple and quick that even my grumbling tummy could just about wait for it.

You will need (serves 4):

1 tbsp veg/olive oil

1 onion sliced

1 large/3 small potatoes, cubed and peeled

2 medium leeks, sliced

1.2 litres/ 2 pints vegetable stock

150 ml creme fraiche

salt & pepper for seasoning

photo-6

photo-7

photo-10

STEP 1:

Heat the oil in a large saucepan.  Add the onions, potatoes and leeks.  Cook for 3-4 mins until starting to soften.

photo-11

STEP 2:

Add the vegetable stock and bring to the boil.  Season well and simmer until the vegetables are tender. (about 20 mins)

photo-13

photo-14

STEP 3:

Whizz with a hand blender or in a blender until smooth.

photo-15

photo-16

STEP 4:

Stir in the creme fraiche.  Heat through.  Serve with fresh crusty rolls and slatherings of butter and you’re good to go.

photo-17

photo-19

photo-20

I actually forgot to buy the creme fraiche so grated some cheese in instead.  You can also replace the creme fraiche with 150 ml double cream.

This recipe is foolproof, I would be very impressed if anyone managed to botch it up!  So go on give it a go…who needs shop bought soup when you can make your own!

A x

3 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Leek and Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

