Birthday Times

A few weeks ago we were all revelling in the beautiful sunshine and so for my birthday I had visions of picnics in the park accompanied by large pitchers of pimms…this was of course not to be with the weather, in true British fashion, taking us back to a season I would refer to as Winter.  Excellent!

Nevertheless I had a fabulous day back at home in Devon with my wonderful family who ensured I was spoilt rotten.

We piled in the car down to Dartmouth with grand plans of getting the ferry, leaving Herbie at home (the ferry leaves him a trembling wreck) but in true Beadel style we were running late so that idea was abandoned.

Dartmouth is an idyllic fishing seaside town in the South Hams and we certainly prefer it out of season – the hoards of tourists who seem to come in force, drive me to distraction, however luckily it wasn’t too bad. There was also a boat race on so my dad was content sizing up all the boats deciding which he would get…I of course wanted the luxury yacht as it had optimum tanning space on deck.

We went to a quirky cafe called Alf Resco for lunch.  It is very popular amongst the locals and the majority of fishermen stop there in the early morning for breakfast. The platters are also incredible with locally sourced fish and meat.

We meandered lazily around the boutiques and of course my sister had us all waiting whilst she tried on dress after dress deliberating over colour…and ended up getting an early birthday present!  She is the only person I know who will come shopping for me and end up with nothing for me but bags for herself – sisters!

A Nespresso machine was one of my fabulous presents  – my dad has a Gaggia coffee machine but I knew that I would never have the patience so pods were definitely the right thing for me.  It is AMAZING, I can’t recommend it enough and Jamie ever the coffee snob was also bowled over.  The gorgeous cushion was from my sister and is one of a kind made by local company Rubydoo.  Jamie’s handmade card features in the pic!

My shout for supper was at my favourite restaurant Chloe’s in Plymouth.  It is run by a fabulous couple Jo and Didier.  Jo is in charge front of house and is the best host you could wish for, whilst Didier cooks up an absolute French storm in the kitchen.  A baby grand sits in the corner with a pianist playing a huge variety of music from jazz to showtunes – obviously a favourite with us all singing along to “Where is Love.”  Andrew Lloyd Webber and Cameron Mackintosh came here before watching the opening of the Phantom of the Opera tour at The Theatre Royal Plymouth, the thought of the ALW songbook being bashed out had me chuckling!  You must pay them a visit if you’re ever in the area.

I leave you to drool over these:

Aperitif: Gazpacho and Sardine pastry

Aperitif: Gazpacho and Sardine Pastry

Starter: Pan-Fried Fresh Local Scallops on Light Cauliflower Mash
with a Basil and Saffron Sabayon
Crispy Pavé of Fresh Local Seabass served on a bed of Celeriac Mash
with a Light Asparagus Sabayon and Grilled Finish
Slow Braised Lambshank with Potato Gateux, Flash Cooked Spinach and Rosemary Sauce
Chloe’s Trilogy of Crème Brûlée
(Three Individual Brûlée Pots (Vanilla, Red Fruit and Passion Fruit)
Chloe’s Luxury Chocolate Mousse with Praline Centre & Raspberry Miniature
I couldn’t resist slipping in the above photo of Louisa topping up her lippy from her Bobbi Brown palette whilst her wine is being poured! One must always be prepared!
What a wonderful day.  I like to draw my birthday out as long as I can –  my 21st started in June and my final party was in August! More than anything it was nice to have my family all in the same place at the same time and spend time together.
A x
2 thoughts on “Birthday Times

Leave a Reply

